Home Just In India Electronics and Semiconductor Association announces new Executive Council for 2022-23

India Electronics and Semiconductor Association announces new Executive Council for 2022-23


India Electronics and Semiconductor Association (IESA) has announced Vivek Tyagi, GM/ BU head with Rptech as Chairperson of the Board of Directors & Executive Committee effective immediately. Vivek succeeds Rajeev Khushu who will continue as an advisor to the board. Vivek will be supported by Sanjay Gupta, VP & India MD of NXP India as the new Vice Chairperson along with Ruchir Dixit VP & Country Manger Siemens EDA (formerly Mentor Graphics) as the Treasurer of IESA.

Vivek has been involved with IESA for over a decade and has served as Board member and as the Vice Chairman in 2020-21. Vivek is also working as GM/ BU head with Rptech ( www.rptechindia.com) where he is building a new business unit focused on the semiconductor & embedded segments. Previously Vivek held leadership roles at Western Digital, SanDisk, Freescale semiconductor ( Now NXP) and Motorola. Vivek’s career spans 30 years in the industry and is engineering graduate with e-MBA from Columbia business school.

Speaking about his new role at IESA,  Vivek Tyagi, Chairperson, IESA said, “I am honoured to be appointed as IESA Chairman. I am working with the new Executive Council and will strive to make India a preferred destination for Innovative Electronic product designs & Semiconductor Products, with globally competitive manufacturing, industry-friendly and fiscally attractive policies and best in the world talent.” He further added, “India’s electronics system design and manufacturing market is expected to grow to US$ 300 billion by the year 2026 as per the MeitY Vision document. Out of this semiconductor, consumption is about US$ 27 billion in 2021 and will rise to US$ 70 billion by the year 2026. IESA will work to catalyse this growth and also work on developing semiconductor manufacturing supply chain eco system out of India working alongside GOI and various state governments.

Sanjay Gupta is the Vice President and India Managing Director at NXP India Pvt Ltd spearheading four diverse R&D locations across Bangalore, Pune, and Hyderabad. He is also the Chairman of the NXP India Board of Directors for all country decisions. As a seasoned professional with more than 27 years in the semiconductor industry, Sanjay is committed to the development of the sector in India and has been vocal about the importance of the government industry-academia partnership in key industry forums. Sanjay started his professional journey with Motorola in 1996. He holds multiple US patents and numerous technical publications. He is a graduate of Delhi College of Engineering and holds an MBA from the Indian School of Business, Hyderabad.

The New Executive Council for the year 2022-23 also includes Sunny Malhotra, Toyota Tsusho Nexty Electronics India Pvt. Ltd, Pradip Thaker, Marvell India Pvt Ltd, Dr Sreeram Srinivasan, Syrma Technology Private Limited, Bhavna Sethi, Micron Technology, Bhartendu Mishra, Arrow Asia Electronics, Varsha Kadam, TE Connectivity, Naresh Rana, Western Digital.

Welcoming the new Chairperson and Vice chairperson, the outgoing Chairperson Rajeev Khushu said, “Despite the challenges brought on by COVID, IESA did have a productive year, making important strides in strengthening the semiconductor ecosystem and aligning with key stakeholders including the Government to bring greater focus to local semiconductor capability across design and manufacturing. I am happy we were able to conduct our flagship event Vision Summit 2021, the first ever Semicon 2022 and also close an MoU with SIA. In addition, we launched two ground breaking reports – one, on the semiconductor market potential in India and the Semiconductor supply chain report. Semiconductor supply chain report was the first of its kind and it clearly sets the stage for India to become a part of global supply chain ecosystem. Because of the inclusive nature of SC supply chain many states in India will be able to participate and contribute to the target of 85-100 B USD by 2030. We are on the right path and the road ahead is exciting and full of potential! It gives me great pleasure to welcome our new Chairman Mr. Vivek Tyagi, Vice Chairman Mr. Sanjay Gupta and our Treasurer Mr. Ruchir Dixit – who will continue to build on the vision to establish India’s strategic leadership in semiconductors.”

IESA has been instrumental in working with the central and state government to bring out favorable policies to enable Indian electronics and semiconductor sector by driving numerous initiatives to bring awareness in the policy makers and working closely with them to help the industry overcome impediments for growth. IESA has also been at the helm towards new government initiatives like ‘Make in India’, ‘Start-up India’ and ‘Digital India’ and has given valuable consultations to international companies who have shown interest to set-up electronics and chip designing facilities in the country. The Executive Council will continue working towards achieving the vision laid down collectively by the association member community.

Recommended for You

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Close Read More

See Ads